The moment when doubt becomes trust.

The next couple weeks I had become the Jeckel and Hyde of excitement and doubt. At the gym we worked hard. After only a few sessions, we were pushing each other to go beyond our limits. Our plan was to not rely only on cardio to burn calories, but to have resistance training as our main workout (build more muscle to burn more fat) I did my cardio at night swimming at the gym pool alone. 

This journey so far had been full of emotions, lots of ups and downs. It started with headaches and doubt. Then there’s trying to eat all your food and doubt. Soon though, the headache is gone and now you are feeling things you haven’t felt in a long time…..

 

E-N-E-R-G-Y!!! Holy cow I had energy. I woke up and I had it, had it after the gym, after cleaning the house, after 8 hours of work even had enough to go swim for an hour after work at midnight. And still I had doubts.

My dreaded measuring day was quickly approaching and my anxiety was getting the better of me. My brain refused to believe the facts. I was walking faster, moving easier, feeling stronger, had less pain and could walk further and further everyday.

Then the day came, 30 days after my very first day with Danielle and LifestyleU. The day started out normal, oatmeal for breakfast then straight to the gym. We had a great workout and talk followed by my second breakfast at home. My nerves were on overdrive and I was petrified. If this didn’t work, I was as good as dead. So I drove to Vena’s Secrets and walked inside. As usual, I was greeted like I was family. We sat for a few minuets just talking in the huge bay window and then it was time. I stood like a scarecrow while Danielle and Pam (another of Vena’s team) started measuring and writing.

“Do you want to know one at a time or wait till the end?”

Inside I was going crazy

“All at once please”

She sat down and started tallying. She looked up at me…with a look on her face like she was trying to hold back tears, she turned the small notebook around. This was the moment…..the moment when doubt became trust…

19 and a half inches GONE!!!

The emotion hit me like a tidal wave. I lost control, I couldn’t speak

“Thank You”

Was the only thing I could get out. While I hugged Danielle I thought “This was it, I AM GOING TO LIVE! I called my wife and we shared a moment, which is one of the moments I save for her and I. 

19 1/2 inches!?!??? 19 1/2 inches!!!!! I was now in control of my life. We took a quick picture and posted it.

 She had my trust. My excitement carried on to the next day, and the next. I knew I wasn’t done jumping over hurdles, but now I was ready to face the next one.

5 thoughts on “The moment when doubt becomes trust.

  1. Scott, you are an amazing and brave man. I love reading about your journey. You are inspiring so many others with your decision to make this blog public and we are all rooting for you!

    Jenn

    Like

  2. denise morrill
    soooooooo proud of you scott!!! you keep that chin up and keep going, it will get easier!! we all may be miles apart BUT were all there with you in your heart ❤

    Like

Leave a comment